Ph.D. Student Paper Competition

General information

Since at least 1984, IAREP has offered a prize for the best paper by a student submitted for inclusion in the programme of its annual conference. The prize is generously sponsored by Elsevier Scientific, the publishers of the Journal of Economic Psychology and the Journal of Socio-Economics. The winner of the Student Paper Competition usually receives:

  • a year's subscription to the Journal of Economic Psychology
  • a prize of 1,000 Euro

The second and third place winners usually receive a year's subscription to the Journal of Economic Psychology. A panel of senior scientists judges the papers using the following criteria: (a) interest of subject area; (b) quality of research; and (c) quality of writing.

Past winners of the prize include

  • 2022
    Jacob Dalgaard CHRISTENSEN
    Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden
  • 2021
    Nurit NOBEL
    Stockholm School of Economics, Sweden
  • 2019
    Ximeng FANG
    University of Bonn, Germany
  • 2018
    Lisa SPANTIG / Stephan JAGAU
    LMU Munich, Germany / CREED at the University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • 2017
    Ben Gurion University, Israel
  • 2016
    Friederike LENEL / Margarita LEIB
    DIW Berlin, Germany / CREED at the University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • 2015
    Christian ZANKIEWICZ
    German Institute for Economic Research (DIW Berlin), Germany
  • 2014
    Jamel KHENFER
    Aix-Marseille University, France
  • 2013

    Sylviane CHASSOT

    Universitaet St. Gallen, Switzerland
  • 2012
    Livia MARIAN
    Aarhus University, Denmark
  • 2011
    Elizabeth A.M. SEARING
    Georgia State University, USA
  • 2010
    Shaul SHALVI
    University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • 2009
    Frantirek KOPRIVA
    CERGE-EI, Prague, Czech Republic
  • 2008
    Anna HELKA / Elzbieta LISOWSKA
    University of Social Sciences and Humanities, Poland
  • 2007
    Clara KULICH / Lionel PAGE / Giuseppe DANESE
    University of Exeter, UK / University of Westminster, UK / University of Trento, Italy
  • 2006
    Reynald-Alexandre LAURENT
    Paris-Jourdan Sciences Économiques, Paris, France
  • 2005
    University of Vienna, Austria
  • 2004
    Gerrit ROTH
    Munich Graduate School of Economics, Germany
  • 2003
    Daniela REITER
    University of Vienna, Austria
  • 2002
    DSMP Research Centre, University of Paris Dauphine, France
  • 2001
    Caroline ADAMS
    School of Psychology, University of Exeter, UK
  • 2000
    Anick BOSMANS
    Research Centre for Consumer Psychology and Marketing, University of Ghent, Belgium

If you or your students are interested in entering in this competition, keep an eye on our website where the deadlines and guidelines for the current competition will be published in time.